How-To Turn Any Depressing Life Moment Into a Joke

This blog is about how to find laughter in some of the worst of situations. For example, say you are at school and have 10 hours of homework and 5 tests to study for in 30 minutes, and all of your friends around you are just as miserable as you are. Well, this is the moment to take a quick break to tell all of your friends how crappy the situation is in a tone that allows for laughter to arise out of everyone. 

Furthermore, let’s say that you just woke up on the wrong side of the bed this morning and NOTHING is going your way. You dropped your toothbrush in your toilet, your dog pooped in your bed, and your hair just will not cooperate. Simple, you call up one of your friends and tell them in the most sarcastic tone about how horrible your day is going, and I guarantee both you and your friend will crack up.

If you have not caught on to the theme here yet, it is all in the tone. Now, I do not know the exact science for this tone. To me, I just try a notch up from a dead pan tone to say my complaints, and that usually leads to the desired reaction. The best advice I can give you is to attempt this tone with trial and error, and hopefully, you will get the hang of it quickly. 

Like I said, there is no science to this how-to manual. You may not even like the idea because this trick does not actually make your situation any more amusing than it was before the joke. The only truly amusing part of this is the tone, and you may be one of those people who relies on an old-fashioned knock, knock joke for laughter. This probably means you won’t like this type of joke, and that is totally fine. I am just not a person who laughs at these classic types of jokes. I am sarcastic, and tend to get my laughs my making a miserable situations a little lighthearted. So, if you are trying to make an awkward, miserable, or boring situation a little better, consider using an almost deadpan tone to complain or make fun of a situation. You may be pleasantly surprised by the results.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *